Organisational chart

The Bank’s operations are divided into six divisions. Personal Banking, Corporate Banking, Asset Management and Capital Markets, Risk Management, Finance and Operations, and IT. Other resource units are Internal Audit, Compliance, and the CEO's Office.


Board of Directors

The Board of Directors consists of 7 regular members and 2 alternates who are elected at the Annual General Meeting for a term of one year.

Current members are: Helga Björk Eiríksdóttir, Chairman, Magnús Pétursson, Vice-chairman, Berglind Svavarsdóttir, Einar Þór Bjarnason, Hersir Sigurgeirsson, Sigríður Benediktsdóttir. Samúel Guðmundsson is an alternate.



Senior management

Lilja Björk Einarsdóttir, the CEO of Landsbankinn, along with the managing directors of the divisions comprise the Bank's Executive Board. The managing directors are (in alphabetical order): Arinbjörn Ólafsson (Information Technology) Árni Þór Þorbjörnsson (Corporate Banking), Helgi T. Helgason (Personal Banking), Hrefna Ösp Sigfinnsdóttir (Asset Management and Capital Markets), Hreiðar Bjarnason (Finance and Operations) and Perla Ösp Ásgeirsdóttir (Risk Management).


Subsidiaries and affiliates

Subsidiaries are companies in which Landsbankinn’s holdings exceed 50%. Affiliates are companies in which Landsbankinn has made a long-term investment and in which it owns a considerable share, although no more than 50%.



The Bank is owned by the National Treasury of Iceland with a 98.2% shareholding. Other shareholders own 1.8% of shares in the Bank.